Growth Policy Plan

Advance Knox was a data driven process to create a plan to guide growth, land use, transportation, economic prosperity, and quality of life for years to come. To support the county's growing population, housing needs and businesses, the Growth Policy Plan was updated for the first time in almost 20 years.

To do so, the Knox County Coordinating Committee reconvened. A list of members, as required by the Tennessee Code Annotated, is below. The Committee made an official recommendation, which was then considered by Knox County Commission, Knoxville City Council, and the Farragut Board of Mayor and Aldermen. These bodies each voted to adopt the amendment in spring of 2024.





Get Involved

2023 Knox County Growth Policy
Coordinating Committee 

  • Mayor Glenn Jacobs  
  • Mayor Indya Kincannon  
  • David Smoak  
  • Broadus Hubbs  
  • Betsy Henderson  
  • John W. Williams III 
  • Darren Cardwell  
  • Amy Nolan
  • Sara Martin*  
  • Brian Simmons* 
  • Kelle Shultz + 
  • Justin Bailey+ 

*Members appointed by Mayor Kincannon  
+Members appointed by Mayor Jacobs

Frequently Asked Questions

Check back for updates.

Get Involved

Questions about this process? Please contact the project team at

Submit a Comment View Comments